Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday #13

Hey everyone and welcome back to my blog! This week I will be participating in Waiting on Wednesday. WoW is a weekly meme hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine. Every week we showcase upcoming releases that we are excited about. Tressa @ Wishful Endings has recently taken lead in this meme, considering Jill hasn't been posting on for a while. Learn more here!

This week I chose Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta!

Here are some stats!
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Pages: 272
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Expected Publication Date: March 14, 2017
A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.

All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife.


Why I'm Waiting 
Though the names Katie Alender and Natasha Preston don't mean anything to me, this book really intrigues me. It seems like Lunetta is taking a new spin on this the stereotypical witch plot. I love a little bit of originality! I am worried that Lunetta will make witchery an excuse for self harm. This book definitely has a thriller type of feel to it; I'm kind of looking forward to being creeped out! Plus, I can't help but sing in my head Bad Blood by Taylor Swift whenever I see this book! Am I the only one? :)

Are you looking forward to Bad Blood?

Thanks so much for stopping by and I'll see you soon with another post!

Happy Reading!

Genni @ Ready, Set, Read!   

22 comments:

  1. This looks AMAZING! Why haven't I heard of it before?!
    Hope you enjoy when you read it, it looks awesome! And I love the cover too!
    Here's my WoW


    Amy @ A Magical World Of Words

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I seriously don't know why it's not getting more buzz! I've seen it only once on a WoW post around 2 months ago. The cover is stunning! Thanks for visiting Amy! :)

      Delete
  2. Ooh nice! I'm curious about this one too!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hopefully it will get more attention! I'll be sure to check out your WoW post! :)

      Delete
  3. First time I'm hearing of this book, but it really sounds wonderful. I hope its very good :)
    Here is my WOW 

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I haven't seen much about this! I'm keeping my fingers crossed. :) I'll be sure to visit!

      Delete
  4. This sounds great!! Fantastic pick!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Erin! I hope you decide to pick it up. :)

      Delete
  5. Now I've got Swift's Bad Blood going through my head. Lol! I don't know how I missed this one, but I did. I really liked In the After from this author so I'll definitely give this one a read. Thanks for linking and sharing!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha I've been humming it all day; you're not alone! :D I actually haven't read anything by this author. I had no idea she had anything published! I'll have to check it out. Of course Tressa! Thanks for taking it over. :)

      Delete
  6. I really like the cover for this one, and the synopsis sounds interesting :) Hope you love it!

    Brittany @ Brittany's Book Rambles

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, it's downright beautiful. Thanks Brittany! :)

      Delete
  7. I absolutely love the cover!! And it sounds so interesting! It's weird how there isn't much buzz about such interesting books! great pick :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I completely agree with you. Hopefully the hype will pick up. :) Thanks Uma!

      Delete
  8. I saw Bad Blood on Goodreads just a few weeks ago and thought it sounded like an interesting thriller! Or is it a paranormal mystery? I'm not sure from the book's description, lol. I'll have to be on the lookout for reviews for this one...

    Liz at Midnight Bloom Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Maybe it's a combination of both! I get vibes for both of those genres. I think that's what I will do as well. I'm interested to see what others think about it! :)

      Delete
  9. I'm curious about this one, though I'm not sure I'll end up reading it! I thought this author's debut series was okay, but nothing life-changing. If I get a copy of this one, then I'll definitely read it, because it sounds interesting. :D I hope you enjoy this book if/when you read it, Genni!

    Have a fantastic day. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm kind of on the fence about this one too, but there is just something that makes me want to read it... I haven't read anything by the author, but I might check it out in the future! Thanks Alyssa! You too. :D

      Delete
  10. This is the first I've seen of this one but it does look really good. Hopefully the self harm will be handled well and it will be as intriguing as it sounds - and a little intensity and thrills won't go astray either!

    Fantastic pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There are a lot of things that could lead this book astray, but I have high hopes! If everything is done right, then this book will be great. :)

      Delete
  11. Oh my, magic and Scotland! Thanks so much for sharing this one, I can't wait either!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Of course! Thanks for stoppng by Miranda! :)

      Delete